The Receiving of the Mortal remains of the deceased soldiers

Cpl Ally Rakoma
Photos: Cpl Ally Rakoma
Posted 27 March 2013

On Thursday, 27 March 2013, the SANDF held a ceremony at Air Force Base Waterkloof in Pretoria to receive the mortal remains of thirteen (13) fallen soldiers who lost their lives in the Central African Republic (CAR).

The Minister of Defence and Military Veterans, Ms Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula, together with the Deputy Minister of Defence and Military Veterans, Mr Thabang Makwetla, handed over the soldiers’remains to their families.

Each family was escorted by a grief counsellor into a hangar at the base to identify their relative’s remains. Thereafter they were seated for a formal military handover during which the SANDF members stood in readiness for the general salute, after which SANDF members executed the slow march drill while carrying coffins draped with the national flag to the waiting hearses.

The Minister of Defence and Military Veterans, Ms Mapisa-Nqakula, flanked by the Deputy Minister, Mr Makwetla, and the Chief of the SANDF, Gen Solly Shoke, addressed the mourners. She praised the fallen troops as true soldiers who had lived up to their calling. She also acknowledged their selflessness. She described them as lions and warriors who had bravely fought to the end.

The names of these gallant soldiers are: Cpl Mokgadi Darius Seakamela, Cpl Ntebaleng Andrew Mogorosi, L Cpl Daniel Sello Molara, L Cpl Lukas Mohapi Tsheke, Rfn Lesego Maxwell Hertzog, Rfn Zamani Jim Mxhosana, Rfn Xolani Dlamini, Rfn Vusumzi Joseph Ngaleka, Rfn Karabo Edwin Matsheka, Rfn Khomotso Paul Msenga, Rfn Maleisane Samuel Thulo, Rfn Motsamai William Bojane and Rfn Thabiso Anthon Phirimana.

They were all members of 1 Parachute Battalion in Bloemfontein and had been deployed to the Central African Republic (CAR). May their souls rest in peace.

Related photos